PDP Candidate Fayose Wins Governorship Election in Ekiti

Mr Ayodele Fayose, the candidate of the People's Democratic Party (PDP), was declared the winner of the June 21 governorship election in Ekiti State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Mr Fayose, according to the electoral body scored 203, 090 number of votes to beat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Kayode Fayemi, who scored 120, 433 while the candidate of the Labour Party, Bamidele Michael Opeyemi scored 18,135 votes to come third.

President Goodluck Jonathan posted Facebook message congratulating Ayodele Fayose with victory:
Post by Goodluck Jonathan.

"Ayodele Peter Fayose of PDP having certified the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected," said the returning officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Professor Isaac Azuzu.

Final results of Ekiti Governorship Election

Despite a number of political parties fielding candidates in the election, analysts had tipped the contest to be between the candidates of three parties - the incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi of the APC, a former governor of the state, Ayo Fayose of the PDP, and a member of the House of Representatives, Opeyemi Bamidele of the LP.

Earlier the candidate of the PDP berated the use of money to sway the minds of electorates during the election insisting that he has left everything in the hands of God.

Speaking to journalists after casting his vote, Mr Fayose said: "Money for me in this game will destroy so many things and will destroy our future. For me, I have been in my house and I have left everything to God. Whichever way it goes, I have taken it as every good gift comes from God almighty.

"I have put in my best during the campaigns and I have left everything in the hands of God," he said.

The incumbent governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), also speaking after casting his vote noted that he had cause to speak to the Inspector General of Police about this minister of state who was violating the election procedure after he failed to reach President Goodluck Jonathan.

In all, 29 domestic and international observers were accredited by INEC to observe the election. The international observers include the UNDP/DGD, EU Delegation, British High Commission, United States Mission to Nigeria, Canadian High commission, Embassies of Netherlands, Switzerland, Germany and France.

Ekiti State has three senatorial districts, six federal constituencies, and 177 registration areas spreading across the 16 LGAs.

There are 2,195 polling units and 2,803 voting points in the state and about 7,941 members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) were engaged as ad-hoc staff to man the booths.

The incumbent was hoping to break the jinx of state governors not being re-elected after a first term, as no governor of the state has been elected for a second term since Nigeria's return to democracy in 1999 in the state.

Other parties that fielded candidates during the election fared thus: Accord-268, AA-146, AA-146, APC-120, 433, AD-843, CPP-967, LP 18, 125‎, KOWA -222, CPP-967, PDP-203, 09‎0, MPPP- 137, NCP-322, PDC-921, PPA-1050, SDP-65, UDP-67.

No comments:

Post a Comment